Surfer Blood Announce '1000 Palms' LP

Surfer Blood Announce '1000 Palms' LP
Former buzz band Surfer Blood have had a rough couple of years, with frontman John Paul Pitts getting mixed up in a domestic battery case and the band getting dropped from Warner. Now, they are moving on by signing to Joyful Noise/Fierce Panda and preparing their third album, 1000 Palms, for release on May 12.

Work on the album began on January 1, 2014, when the band rented a practice space in Portland and spent a month demoing. After that, they self-recorded drums in an attic studio and captured the rest of the instruments at home.

This DIY approach was, according to a statement from the band, "Completely void of the middlemen scrutinizing every bar of [2013's sophomore LP] Pythons." The result is apparently "bit more bruised since the innocent take off of [the 2010 debut] Astro Coast."

Scroll past the tracklist below to hear opening cut "Grand Inquisitor." The single "Dorian" is expected to premiere today.

1000 Palms:

1. Grand Inquisitor
2. Island
3. I Can't Explain
4. Feast / Famine
5. Point of No Return
6. Sabre-Tooth and Bone
7. Covered Wagons
8. Dorian
9. Into Catacombs
10. Other Desert Cities
11. NW Passage