Sparklehorse/Fennesz Collaboration Finally Gets Released

Sparklehorse/Fennesz Collaboration Finally Gets Released
As we reported over a year now, Mark Linkous has been long promising a collaboration with his Sparklehorse and Austrian laptop whiz Christian Fennesz. It's to be the next in line as part of Konkurrent's In the Fishtank series, which, as Fennesz told Exclaim! earlier this year, involves finishing an entire record in two days. Well, the long-awaited and much-anticipated record has arrived. In fact, you can pick it up right now at iTunes.

As Konkurrent explains: "Just two days in December 2007 were enough to record over 40 minutes of the sublime Fennesz and Sparklehorse combination. Prepared oddities and masses of inspiration make these recordings unique in their style and in this series in particular. Songs and soundscapes of rare beauty with stunning atmospherics, where abstract sounds and well-crafted traditional song structure meet and where acoustic instruments and electronics create outstanding ambience."

Sound tempting? If so, that digital version is all up and ready for purchase, and if you don't mind waiting just a little longer, the CD and LP versions are due out on September 14.

Thanks to Pitchfork for the heads-up.

In the Fishtank 15: Sparklehorse + Fennessz:

1. "Music Box of Snakes"

2. "Goodnight Sweetheart"

3. "Shai-Hulud"

4. "If My Heart"

5. "Mark's Guitar Piece"

6. "NC Bongo Buddy"

7. "Christian's Guitar Piece"