Soundgarden Detail 'King Animal'

Soundgarden Detail 'King Animal'
Info about Soundgarden's new King Animal album, their first full-length in 16 years, has slowly been filtered through the pipeline the last little while. Now, a couple months shy of King Animal's November 13 due date, the band have issued all tracklist info and delivered the pile of skulls that is its artwork.

The follow-up to 1996's Down on the Upside will feature 13 songs, with the group nobly keeping recently released Avengers soundtrack cut "Live to Rise" exclusive to that release. We had heard a a snippet from King Animal number "Worse Dreams," and now a little more music is being previewed in a snowy album trailer, which you can see down below.

King Animal was tracked at Studio X in Seattle, and mixed in Pasadena, CA, by Joe Barresi (the Melvins, Queens of the Stone Age, Weezer). According to a statement, this was a team effort. While many lyrics were penned by guitarist-vocalist Chris Cornell, guitarist Kim Thayil whipped up some politically minded words for "Non-State Actor," and bassist Ben Shepherd contributed lyrics to "Attrition."

As previously reported, Thayil had said of the album: "It re-establishes that we still rock, we're still heavy, and we're still a little weird."

King Animal arrives through Four Entertainment/Universal Republic Records.

King Animal:

1. Been Away Too Long
2. Non-State Actor
3. By Crooked Steps
4. A Thousand Days Before
5. Blood On The Valley Floor
6. Bones of Birds
7. Taree
8. Attrition
9. Black Saturday
10. Halfway There
11. Worse Dreams
12. Eyelid's Mouth
13. Rowing