The Souljazz Orchestra Reveal 'Resistance' LP, Share New Video

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Jul 16, 2015

Fans of Ottawa-based ensemble the Souljazz Orchestra will be pleased to learn that the eclectic, high-energy collective have unveiled plans for a new full-length offering. Titled Resistance, the album will arrive on September 4 via Do Right Music in Canada.
Known for their unique and potent brand of Afro-Latin funk music, the band continue to expand their worldly sound on the new record. Described in a press release as "hard-hitting, rhythmically-irresistible tropical funk," the new songs find the group incorporating some previously unexplored influences.
"We approached this album with a fresh ear," said bandleader Pierre Chrétien in a statement. "We were keen to build on the band's sound and message, bringing in some of the French Caribbean and Francophone West African influences that we've loved since our youth."
In addition to expanding their instrumental palette, the new set of songs also marks the first vocal album for the Souljazz Orchestra, incorporating "powerful lyrics" and "biting social commentaries."
You can get a sampling of the new sound by scrolling past the album's tracklisting and watching the video for the album's lead single "Shock and Awe" in the player below.

The album is set to arrive via !K7 in the U.S. and Strut in the U.K.


1. Greet The Dawn
2. Shock And Awe
3. Courage
4. As The World Turns
5. Life Is What You Make It
6. Bull's Eye
7. It's Gonna Rain
8. Ware Wa
9. Kossa Kossa
10. It's Gonna Rain

Latest Coverage