Slowdive Detail First New Album in 22 Years

The shoegaze veterans have also unveiled a new video for "Sugar for the Pill" and revealed plans to livestream a secret show
Slowdive Detail First New Album in 22 Years
Slowdive returned in a big way this year, debuting their first new song in more than two decades with the arrival of "Star Roving," and mapping out 2017 tour dates. Now, they've finally unveiled plans for a brand new album.
Simply self-titled, Slowdive is due out on May 5 via Dead Oceans. The album marks the band's first studio album since 1995's Pygmalion and their fourth overall.
The new album was recorded at the Courtyard studio in Oxfordshire, UK, then mixed at Sunset Sound in Los Angeles by Chris Coady.
"When you're in a band and you do three records, there's a continuous flow and a development," the band's Neil Halstead explained in a statement. "For us, that flow restarted with us playing live again and that has continued into the record."
The group played their first show of the year last night (March 27) in Glasgow, debuting "Star Roving" live for the first time. They also reportedly performed tracks called "Sugar for the Pill" and "No Longer Making Time" from the upcoming album. Fans hoping to catch Slowdive in action for themselves can tune into the band's Facebook at 4:10 p.m. EDT tomorrow (March 29), where Slowdive will be livestreaming a just-announced secret gig from the Garage in London.
First, though, you can check out the artsy official video for "Sugar for the Pill." Take in the full tracklisting for Slowdive down below then hit play to get acquainted with the band's latest single.
Slowdive is currently available for pre-order here.
1. Slomo
2. Star Roving
3. Don't Know Why
4. Sugar for the Pill
5. Everyone Knows
6. No Longer Making Time
7. Go Get It
8. Falling Ashes