Skepta Sets Release Date for 'Konnichiwa' LP

Skepta Sets Release Date for 'Konnichiwa' LP
After releasing a slew of singles and buddying up with a certain Canadian rapper these past few years, it appears we finally have a concrete release date for grime MC Skepta's long-awaited Konnichiwa LP. 

In a post to Instagram today (April 13), the MC revealed the record's cover art, seen above, with the message "#Konnichiwa the album, May 6th. Greatness." The album's release date has been unknown for over a year, with the artist having contributed to a resurgence of the genre in North America throughout 2014 and 2015 with a handful of single releases.

May 6 will also see Skepta take the stage at the Danforth Music Hall for a sold-out show as part of this year's Canadian Music Week lineup, one of two Canadian stops on his recently announced "No Fear" tour. The other Canadian stop will see him shut down Vancouver's Vogue Theatre on April 28, and tickets for that show can be found for here.

Konnichiwa will presumably arrive through the MC's own label Boy Better Know. Take a look at Skepta's post and revisit "Shutdown" in the player below.

UPDATE (4/14, 3 p.m.): You can now also see the tracklist below.


1. Konnichiwa

2. Lyrics

3. Corn On The Curb

4. Crime Riddim

5. It Ain't Safe (ft. A$AP Bari)
6. Lukey World

7.Ladies Hit Squad (ft. A$AP Nast + D Double E)
8. Numbers (123)

9. Man (Laigon Life)

10. Shutdown

11. That's Not Me (ft. Jme)
12. Detox

13. Text Me Back

#Konnichiwa the album, May 6th. Greatness.

A photo posted by SKEPTA (@skeptagram) on