SiriusXM Indies Announce 2015 Nominees

SiriusXM Indies Announce 2015 Nominees
Canadian Music Week will play host to the 15th annual Independent Music Awards on May 9. As previously reported, the ceremony better known as the Indies will feature performances from Billy Talent, Alvvays, the Glorious Sons, Broncho and Miracles. Now, the list of nominees for the night's awards has been revealed.
Alvvays, Death From Above 1979, Mac DeMarco, Owen Pallet and the New Pornographers will face off in the coveted Album of the Year category, with each of the aforementioned nominees appearing again in their respective Group/Duo or Artist of the Year category, as well.
Beyond the borders of Canada, artist like Run the Jewels, Cloud Nothings, St. Vincent and Flying Lotus nabbed nominations in the international categories.
The winners are decided by both fans and industry voters, and the awards will be handed out on May 9 at the Sheraton Centre in Toronto. You can vote for your favourite artists and get tickets to the event over here at the Indies' official website.

Check out a select list of nominees below, or head here for the full extensive list.
Album of the Year:
Alvvays Alvvays
Death From Above 1979 The Physical World
Mac DeMarco Salad Days
Owen Pallet In Conflict
The New Pornographers Brill Bruisers
Single of the Year:
[SEBELL] "Till the Sun Burns Out"
Chromeo "Jealous (I Ain't With It)"
Death From Above 1979 "Trainwreck 1979"
MAGIC! "Rude"
USS (Ubiquitous Synergy Seeker) "Yin Yang"
Group or Duo of the Year:
Death From Above 1979
The Glorious Sons
The New Pornographers
Tokyo Police Club
Artist of the Year:
Mac DeMarco
Owen Pallett
Tanya Tagaq
The Weeknd
Female Artist of the Year:
Jenn Grant
Lisa LeBlanc
Steph Cameron
Tanya Tagaq
Male Artist of the Year:
Chad VanGaalen
Jay Malinowski & The Deadcoast
Kevin Drew
Owen Pallet
Rich Aucoin
Songwriter of the Year:
July Talk
The New Pornographers
The Weeknd
Alternative Group or Duo of the Year:
Dan Mangan + Blacksmith
Timber Timbre
Electronic Artist or Group of the Year:
Art Department
Zeds Dea
Metal Artist or Group of the Year:
Devin Townsend Project
Protest the Hero
Punk/Hardcore Artist or Group of the Year:
Comeback Kid
Fucked Up
Single Mothers
White Lung
Rap/Hip Hop Artist or Group of the Year:
Cam Smith
Jazz Cartier
Naturally Born Strangers
Tre Mission
Rock Artist or Group of the Year:
Big Wreck
Current Swell
Death From Above 1979
The Glorious Sons
The Trews
International Group or Duo of the Year:
Cloud Nothings
Future Islands
Run The Jewels
International Artist of the Year:
Aphex Twin
Flying Lotus
Sharon Van Etten
St. Vincent
International Album of the Year:
Against Me!  Transgender Dysphoria Blues
FKA Twigs LP1
Run The Jewels Run The Jewels 2
St. Vincent St. Vincent
The War on Drugs Lost in the Dream
International Single of the Year:
Future Islands "Seasons (Waiting On You)"
Hozier "Take Me To Church"
Jason Aldean "Burnin' it Down"
Mr. Probz "Waves (Robin Shulz Remix)"
The War on Drugs "Red Eyes"