Shotgun Jimmie Bounces Through a 'Field of Trampolines' on Next LP, Shares New Single

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Mar 3, 2016

Canadian indie mainstay Shotgun Jimmie is looking to catch some air on his next LP. He's just announced plans to release a new record titled Field of Trampolines, which will jump onto shelves March 18 via You've Changed Records.
The new set of songs was produced by Joel Plaskett at his Dartmouth studio New Scotland Yard in August of last year. Coming off a tour that saw Jimmie and his band Human Music sleeping under the stars, swimming in lakes and cooking by campfire, the band hit the studio with Plaskett to lay down ten new tracks that reflect those experiences.
In addition songs about touring ("Join the Band"), natural phenomena ("Solar Array") and camping ("Triple Letter Score"), Jimmie also serves up some songs about his musical influences. The new record features homages to the Constantines ("Constantine Believer"), Attack in Black ("Love Letter") and Eric's Trip ("Song For Julie, Chris, Rick + Mark").
The first single from the upcoming album has arrived via popular Toronto brunch haunt Aunties & Uncles — a comforting spot for Jimmie and his collaborators compared to the gruelling demands of life on the road. Scroll past the Field of Trampolines tracklisting to give it a listen below.

Field of Trampolines:

1. Join The Band
2. Georgia OK
3. Solar Array
4. Triple Letter Score
5. Project 9
6. Field of Trampolines
7. Love Letter
8. Constantine Believer
9. Song For Julie, Chris, Rick + Mark
10. Walkman Battery Bleed

Latest Coverage