The Ruby Suns Ready 'Christopher,' Share New Track

The Ruby Suns Ready 'Christopher,' Share New Track
The Ruby Suns kick-started their career following California native Ryan McPhun's move to New Zealand, but the artist made a break from the Kiwi region to make his upcoming fourth LP, Christopher. The album arrives January 29 via Sub Pop and a day earlier overseas through Memphis Industries.

According to a press release, the 10-song set is "chock full of high-fi, meta-disco, and headphonic roller-skating jams." The album took shape late in 2010, when McPhun went on holiday to Oslo, Norway, following a break-up with his girlfriend and bandmate. The vacay apparently inspired him to whip up the record, which puts "emphasis on emotionally legible lyrics."

Christopher was completely written, performed, engineered and produced by McPhun on his lonesome, but mixed by Chris Coady (Beach House, Grizzly Bear) and mastered by Joe Laporta. You can check out the full tracklisting below and the artwork up above.

Also, at the bottom of the page, you can check out the shimmery pop & B slow jam "Kingfisher Call Me."


1. Desert of Pop
2. In Real Life
3. Dramatikk
4. Kingfisher Call Me
5. Rush
6. Jump In
7. Boy
8. Starlight
9. Futon Fortress
10. Heart Attack