Royal Tusk Return with Anthemic 'DealBreaker'

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Jan 22, 2016

While Alberta unit Royal Tusk's Mountain EP featured some searing guitar work and towering pop hooks, the band are apparently cranking up their amps even more for their forthcoming debut full-length. Take it or leave it, the band's DealBreaker sees release May 6 through new label home MapleMusic.

A press release notes that the quintet hit the studio with producer Eric Ratz (Big Wreck, Monster Truck, Arkells, Billy Talent) to track a record apparently full of "rock'n'roll soul, blue-collar charm and a renegade attitude."

"We've always been a guitar-driven band, but Mountain focused on highlighting our pop songwriting," vocalist/guitarist Daniel Carriere said in a statement. "For DealBreaker, we wanted to maintain that songwriting integrity, but make an old-fashioned heavy-guitar record."

Helping the band rock a little harder is Big Wreck frontman Ian Thornley, who contributed a "massive guitar solo" to closing track "So Long the Build Up." The record is also being teased as featuring plenty of "raw energy" and "anthemic sing-along choruses."

Down below, you'll find the tracklisting to DealBreaker, as well as a video for first single "Fever."

Comprising former members of Edmonton act Ten Second Epic, Royal Tusk's 2014 EP Mountain had been delivered through the Hidden Pony imprint.


1. Dynamo
2. Curse the Weather
3. Soon
4. Don't Get Me Wrong
5. Cold on Me
6. Fever
7. I'll Wait
8. Not So Fast
9. DealBreaker
10. Above Ground
11. So Long the Build Up (ft. Ian Thornley)

Latest Coverage