The Rolling Stones Announce 40th Anniversary 'Tattoo You' Box Set, Share Unreleased Track

Hear "Living in the Heart of Love" from the newly remastered and expanded album now

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Aug 19, 2021

The Rolling Stones released Tattoo You 40 years ago this month — so it would be sinful not to (permanently) mark the occasion with the release of a box set, right? The 2021 remaster will land on October 22 via Polydor/Interscope/UMe.

Along with the remastered version of the iconic original record, the Tattoo You box set also includes Lost & Found — featuring nine previously unreleased songs, including covers of Dobie Gray's "Drift Away" and Jimmy Reed's "Shame, Shame, Shame." If you need any further enticement, the band have shared the unheard "Living in the Heart of Love" recording ahead of time.

But wait, there's more: the Still Life live recordings from Wembley Stadium circa 1982 are included, alongside a 124-page book with over 200 rare photos. The book also has new interviews with photographer Hubert Kretzschmar and producer Chris Kimsey.

Tattoo You was the 16th British and 18th American studio album for the prolific English band. While it was mostly comprised of studio outtakes from the 1970s, it also gave the world "Start Me Up," which went on to become one of the Stones' most well-known songs. The Tattoo You 40th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition of the record contains an early version of the hit.

Listen to "Living in the Heart of Love" — and check out the full expanded tracklist — below.

The Rolling Stones are currently gearing up to embark on their "No Filter" tour, which will be skipping Canada. Drummer Charlie Watts will also be skipping the entire run.

Tattoo You 40th Anniversary Super Deluxe

Side A
1. Start Me Up (2021 Remaster)
2. Hang Fire (2021 Remaster)
3. Slave (2021 Remaster)
4. Little T&A (2021 Remaster)
5. Black Limousine (2021 Remaster)
6. Neighbours (2021 Remaster)

Side B
7. Worried About You (2021 Remaster)
8. Tops (2021 Remaster)
9. Heaven (2021 Remaster)
10. No Use in Crying (2021 Remaster)
11. Waiting on a Friend (2021 Remaster)

Side C
1. Living in the Heart of Love
2. Fiji Jim
3. Trouble's a Coming
4. Shame, Shame, Shame
5. Drift Away

Side D
6. It's a Lie
7. Come to the Ball
8. Fast Talking Slow Walking
9. Start Me Up (Early Version)

Side E
1. Under My Thumb (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
2. When the Whip Comes Down (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
3. Let's Spend The Night Together (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
4. Shattered (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
5. Neighbours (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)

Side F
6. Black Limousine (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
7. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me) [Live at Wembley Stadium 1982]
8. Twenty Flight Rock (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
9. Going to a Go Go (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)

Side G
1. Chantilly Lace (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
2. Let Me Go (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
3. Time Is on My Side (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
4. Beast of Burden (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)

Side H
5. Let it Bleed (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
6. You Can't Always Get What You Want (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
7. Band Introductions (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
8. Little T&A (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)

Side J
1. Tumbling Dice (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
2. She's So Cold (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
3. Hang Fire (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
4. Miss You (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
5. Honky Tonk Women (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)

Side K
6. Brown Sugar (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
7. Start Me Up (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
8. Jumpin' Jack Flash (Live at Wembley Stadium 1982)
9. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction [Live at Wembley Stadium 1982]

Pre-order Tattoo You 40th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition.

Latest Coverage