Rococode Return with Sophomore Album, Premiere "Panic Attack" Video

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Jan 18, 2016

Vancouver indie-pop pair Rococode (composed of Laura Smith and Andrew Braun) released their Panic Attack EP last fall, and now they're ready to follow it up with a brand new full-length. Don't Worry It Will Be Dark Soon is due out on February 26 via Marquis Label Services.
It marks the band's sophomore effort and was recorded with producers Caleb Shreve and Ted Gowans. Despite the rustic nature of the British Columbia cabin studio where it was made, the album spins synthesizers, effects pedals and drum machines into a modern, glossy synth-pop sound.
The title was taken from Thom Yorke's between-song banter at a Radiohead show that Braun attended as a teenager.
"The daylight was kind of busting the vibe for most of the show and Thom Yorke kept saying, 'Don't worry it will be dark soon. Everything is gonna be fine. It will be dark soon,'" he explained in a press release. "It kind of rattled around in my brain for 10 years and then we wrote the tracks, thinking about the comfort that the nighttime affords. It feels like a time where there is room to breathe and be ourselves."
That catharsis can be heard across the albums 10 new tracks. See the full list of song titles below. Beyond that, check out the exclusive video premiere of "Panic Attack."
Directed by Robert Tornroos and Ryan Flowers, the saucy clip sees bandmates Smith and Braun's relationship progress from a sloppy spaghetti dinner to a steamy make-out session. Check it out now.
Don't Worry It Will Be Dark Soon:
1. Diamond
2. Panic Attack
3. Baddest Sun   
4. Until You're Mine
5. Cuttime
6. Hunter Gather
7. Dead and Gone
8. Crystalline
9. Don't Worry
10. Doom and Bloom

Latest Coverage