Richard Youngs Heads Beyond the Valley of the Ultrahits on New LP

Richard Youngs Heads <i>Beyond the Valley of the Ultrahits</i> on New LP
British experimentalist Richard Youngs has been exploring elements of electronic music, progressive rock, folk and improvisation since he started making music in 1982. With a massive pile of releases under his belt, the restless 44-year-old has revealed plans for a new studio album this year.

The record is called Beyond the Valley of the Ultrahits and will be Youngs's tenth full-length to come out on Jagjaguwar. According to a press release, the album attempts to "capture the 'beats and hooks' of contemporary pop... But let it be known: this collection of house-inspired gems displays much more than a capacity for pop emulation. It's a confirmation of Youngs's craft and prowess, no matter the terrain."

Promising elements of Pet Shop Boys and the Madchester sound, Beyond the Valley of the Ultrahits is an album we're now greatly anticipating. The record was originally released as a frustratingly limited CD-R in 2009, but will be available on CD and LP from Jagjaguwar on July 20.

Album track "Love in the Great Outdoors" can be downloaded here. Beyond the Valley of the Ultrahits:

1. "The Valley in Flight"

2. "Like a Sailor"

3. "Collapsing Stars"

4. "Love in the Great Outdoors"

5. "Still Life in Room"

6. "Oh Reality"

7. "Radio Innocents"

8. "Summer Void"

9. "A Storm of Light Ignites My Heart"

10. "Sun Points at the World"