R.I.P. Ohio Players Founder Walter "Junie" Morrison

R.I.P. Ohio Players Founder Walter 'Junie' Morrison
Walter "Junie" Morrison, multi-instrumentalist and founder of funk group the Ohio Players, has died, according to various online reports. He was 62.

Morrison served as the mastermind behind Ohio Players hits "Pain," "Pleasure," "Ecstasy" and "Funky Worm." After leaving the group in 1974, he recorded a trio of solo albums titled When We DoFreeze and Suzie Supergroupie.

Morrison also served as the musical director for George Clinton's Parliament-Funkadelic, playing a major role in releasing revered records One Nation Under a GrooveMotor Booty Affair and Gloryhallastoopid. Morrison was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame with Parliament-Funkadelic in 1997.

Morrison would continue to work with P-Funk and produce other artists throughout the '90s. His most recent solo offering, When the City, arrived through his own label Juniefunk in 2014.

A number of musicians have paid their respects to Morrison on social media, which you can find below.

Thanks to OkayPlayer for the tip.