Posthumous J Dilla 12-inch "Anthem" to Precede the Release of 'The Diary'

Posthumous J Dilla 12-inch 'Anthem' to Precede the Release of 'The Diary'
Coming off a pair of posthumous J Dilla releases that dropped last week, the estate of the late producer have announced more material to look forward to. A previously unreleased collaborative LP called The Diary is on the way, with a 12-inch single whetting our whistles before its release.

Dilla's Pay Jay imprint will deliver The Diary, an album produced in the early 2000s, sometime this spring. The album features verses from Dilla atop beats from the likes of Madlib, Pete Rock, Nottz, House Shoes, Karriem Riggins, and more. A tracklisting has yet been unveiled.

First up, however, is a 12-inch for the Dilla-produced "Anthem," featuring Frank and Dank, and "Trucks," which both apparently figure on The Diary. A press release explains that the songs were mixed by engineer Dave Cooley, who had collaborated with Dilla in the past, and worked off of Dilla's demos for this release.

Aside from Cooley's interpretations of the tracks, the single features instrumentals for each song, an a capella of "Anthem," and the original Dilla demo mix of "Trucks." You can pre-order the 12-inch here ahead of its April 15 street date, and stream "Anthem" down below.

Anthem 12-inch:

1. Anthem

2. Anthem (Instrumental)

3. Anthem (A Cappella)

4. Trucks

5. Trucks (Instrumental)

6. Trucks (Dilla's Original Mix)