Portishead's Geoff Barrow Preps Full-Length BEAK>Debut

Portishead's Geoff Barrow Preps Full-Length BEAK>Debut
It seems like the inevitable trip-hop revival is in full force, what with the upcoming Massive Attack EP and LP on the way, not to mention last year's highly praised Portishead album, Third. Now, that pattern is continuing with the all-caps BEAK>, a new project helmed by Portishead producer Geoff Barrow.

The trio will release their debut self-titled album this fall via Mike Patton's Ipecac imprint in North America. The band, which also features fellow Bristol musicians Billy Fuller and Matt Williams, recorded the entire album in one room and wrote the thing in just 12 days. The LP was also recorded using no overdubs, a process that Barrow found freeing, apparently. "It's really good to create music under different conditions than you're used to," he said in a statement.

BEAK> is due in stores on October 20. Of course, waiting for an album to come out on its proper release date is for people who don't know how to use the Internet. Thankfully, the band have made it easy, with two MP3s available on their MySpace and six tracks available for download on their website.


1. "Backwell"
2. "Pill"
3. "Ham Green"
4. "I Know"
5. "Battery Point"
6. "Iron Acton"
7. "Ears Have Ears"
8. "Blagdon Lake"
9. "Barrow Gurney"
10. "The Cornubia"
11. "Dundry Hill"
12. "Flax Bourton"