Pontiak Announce 'INNOCENCE,' Premiere Title Track

Pontiak Announce 'INNOCENCE,' Premiere Title Track
Virginia-based brother band Pontiak have revealed they'll be following up their 2012 LP Echo Ono with a new one in 2014. Dubbed INNOCENCE, the set arrives January 28 through Thrill Jockey.

Described in a press release as featuring "the most absorbing and melodic material the band has produced," the 11-song album was recorded at band members Van, Jennings and Lain Carney's Studio A facilities in Virginia. The album is said to thread ballads like "Wildfires" and "Darkness is Coming" into the mix with more hook driven material.

You can sample the stoney, riff-blazing title track, which we figure is a sample of the latter, down below. Apparently the song was inspired by a hitch-hiking trip Van Carney had taken in Venezuela.

Thrill Jockey is taking pre-orders for the set now, and if you act fast you can nab yourself an additional CD-R featuring the score to the Heat Leisure short film the band produced earlier this year. The 18-minute film featured exclusive live performances mingling with shots of Virginia farmland.

Additionally, a limited vinyl run of 500 copies of INNOCENCE will be made available on white wax.

The Carney brothers also have a U.S. tour starting up this Friday (November 29), and you can see their Stateside show schedule over here.


1. Innocence
2. Lack Lustre Rush
3. Ghosts
4. It's the Greatest
5. Noble Heads
6. Wildfires
7. Surrounded by Diamonds
8. Beings of the Rarest
9. Shining
10. Darkness is Coming
11. We've Got it Wrong