Poirier Announces New Boundary Album

BY Alex HudsonPublished Aug 12, 2014

Last year, Ghislain Poirier ventured out of his dancehall comfort zone to release a minimal techno album under the name Boundary. Now, he's back with a second LP from the project called Still Life.

From the sound of things, this album mixes minimalist subtlety with the maximalism of Poirier's other projects. It's described in a press release as "electronic chamber music," with sonic reference points including Andy Stott, Actress, Boards of Canada, TM404, and the Blade Runner score.

It was apparently created in the dead of night and is designed to be heard under similar circumstances. See the tracklist below and the album art above.

Poirier will be sharing the new Boundary album with a listening session at the Society for Arts and Technology's Satosphere on September 9 in Montreal. It's free, but only a few spots are available at the door, and it will be followed by a Q&A session. You can RSVP by emailing info@shoucshouc.com.

At the bottom of this page, watch a newly shared live video for "Expo 67" from last year's self-titled Boundary album. The performance at the Montreal Jazz Festival last month marked the first time Boundary played as a four-piece "band" (synth, projectors, drums and Poirier himself).

Still Life:

1. Rodinia
2. Rosemont
3. Villes infinies
4. Frontera
5. Los Angeles 2019
6. Royaum
7. Yamuna Expressway
8. Moebius
9. White Mountains
10. Fractal
11. Ocean
12. Ce qui existe

Latest Coverage