Plants and Animals Unveil New LP

Plants and Animals Unveil New LP
Following their orchestrally inclined debut, 2008's Parc Avenue, Montreal trio Plants and Animals took a hard-rocking turn on their 2010 follow-up, La La Land. If you're eager to hear where the band will be taking their sound next then you won't have to wait for long, since they just announced plans to release The End of That on February 28 via Secret City Records.

The album was recorded at La Frette Studios near Paris with engineer Lionel Darenne (who also worked on La La Land). This brisk two-week session resulted in what a press release says is "arguably Plants and Animals' most live-off-the-floor offering."

The album is said to blend "catchy electric guitar riffs" with "singer Warren C. Spicer on piano, and plenty of acoustic guitar." This means fans will be getting stripped-down acoustic work alongside "multi-part excursions" and "anthemic monsters." Get a taste of the record's sound in the form of lead single "Lightshow," which is streaming at the bottom of the page.

Check out the album cover above and peruse the tracklist below. You'll notice that it includes the song "2010." Earlier this year, we reviewed the band's live show and noted that this new cut was a "lengthy rocker that bristled with guitar grit and thundering drums."

Look for tour dates to be announced soon.

The End of That:

1. "Before"
2. "The End of That"
3. "Song for Love"
4. "Lightshow"
5. "Crisis!"
6. "2010"
7. "HC"
8. "Why & Why"
9. "Control Me"
10. "No Idea"
11. "Runaways"

Plants and Animals - Lightshow by SecretCityRecords