Plants and Animals Return with New Album 'The Jungle'

Watch a video for the record's "House on Fire"

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Jun 23, 2020

Plants and Animals recently came back into our lives with the new song "Sacrifice." Now the Montreal band have revealed an entire new studio album. Titled The Jungle, the record arrives on October 23 via Secret City Records.

The album is the fifth from Plants and Animals and their first since 2016's Waltzed in from the Rumbling. It's apparently their shortest album, but "certainly their boldest," with  "eight acts in a world full of noise."

To give us another taste of that, the group have shared the new track "House on Fire," which has arrived via a new video.

In a statement, Plants and Animals explained the following of their new album:

We started working on this a couple of years ago. Warren was afraid for a friend's health. He thought he was self-medicating too much and not taking care of himself. He couldn't let go of this image of an overworked dude swallowing too many sleeping pills and falling asleep with the stove on. So it began as the place next door, sometime before Greta Thunberg turned the expression into a rallying cry, where Earth is the house and the people are sleeping. It's terrifying, and on the whole we're not unlike this friend, are we?

Check out "House on Fire" below, where you'll also find the tracklist.

The Jungle:

1. The Jungle

2. Love That Boy

3. House on Fire

4. Sacrifice

5. Get My Mind

6. Le Queens

7. In Your Eyes

8. Bold

Pre-order The Jungle.


Latest Coverage