Phosphorescent Announces 'Muchacho' LP, Premieres New Song

Phosphorescent Announces 'Muchacho' LP, Premieres New Song
Phosphorescent (aka Brooklyn-based singer-songwriter Matthew Houck) homed in on country influences on his last few releases, but the artist has apparently made some tweaks to his template for the upcoming Muchacho.

The LP, which arrives March 19 via Dead Oceans, is said to feature some of the same country rock vibes from his 2010 set Here's to Taking it Easy, but a press release says the album also "strikes out into more adventurous waters via rhythm and electronic textures."

The song cycle apparently came out of a domestic crisis at the beginning of 2012 that forced him to seek out a new home/studio in the dead of winter. With song ideas forming in his head, Houck took the opportunity to get out of the cold and booked a ticket to sunny Mexico.

"It sounds really cheesy, but I went down there with a guitar and got a little hut on the beach in Tulum, on the Yucatan Peninsula," he said in a statement, which confirms he wrapped up songwriting sessions in Mexico before tracking the set in New York.

You can sample some of Houck's new sounds via a stream of breezy, synth- and strings-assisted new number "Song for Zula," which you'll find down below.


1. Sun, Arise! (An Invocation, An Introduction)

2. Song for Zula

3. Ride On/Right On

4. Terror in the Canyons (The Wounded Master)

5. A Charm/ A Blade

6. Muchacho's Tune

7. A New Anhedonia

8. The Quotidian Beasts

9. Down to Go

10. Sun's Arising (A Koan, An Exit)