Parenthetical Girls Compile 12-Inch Series for 'Privilege' Album

Parenthetical Girls Compile 12-Inch Series for 'Privilege' Album
Parenthetical Girls have been rolling out Privilege as a series of ultra limited-edition 12-inch EPs, and now the Portland-based pop eclectics have compiled those mini-releases into a full length-album. Privilege will be out on February 19 through Slender Means Society/Marriage.

The EP series contained a total of 21 tracks, but this album slims it down to a relatively modest 12, which have been remixed and remastered. These tracks feature the core Parenthetical Girls lineup of frontman Zac Pennington and producer Jherek Bischoff, and reportedly find the band shedding the lavish orchestrations that marked 2008's Entanglements.

A press release notes, "Privilege retains the group's signature ambitions — visceral intimacy, camp austerity, lurid eloquence — while confidently embracing the perfect pop pastiche their previous records only alluded to."

The album will be releases in both CD/DVD and LP/DVD sets. The DVD will include seven promotional films, live performance, something called "blood draw documentation," and other materials.


1. Evelyn McHale
2. The Common Touch
3. Careful Who You Dance With
4. For All The Final Girls
5. The Pornographer
6. Sympathy for Spastics
7. Weaknesses
8. A Note To Self
9. Young Throats
10. On Death & Endearments
11. The Privilege
12. Curtains

Privilege (Abridged) Trailer. from Parenthetical Girls on Vimeo.