Olivia Tremor Control to Reissue 'Cubist Castle' and 'Black Foliage'

Olivia Tremor Control to Reissue 'Cubist Castle' and 'Black Foliage'
After announcing a North American tour last month, we had our hopes up that Elephant 6 psych pop heroes the Olivia Tremor Control would finally deliver on their promise of new material. Instead, the long-absent troupe have revealed plans to reissue their first two albums.

Music From the Unrealized Film Script: Dusk at Cubist Castle (1996) and Black Foliage: Animation Music Vol. 1 are each set to get the deluxe vinyl reissue treatment, where they'll both be treated to remasters from the original tapes. The reissues will be packaged in nifty Stoughton tip-on jackets, and each will include a download card with hours of rarities and unreleased tracks.

Chunklet Industries will re-release Cubist Castle and Black Foliage on November 15. Each release is limited to 1,000 copies, with 200 green vinyl editions available for mailorder. The mailorder version also includes an exclusive Olivia Tremor Control T-shirt.

Thanks to Pitchfork for the tip.

Music From the Unrealized Film Script: Dusk at Cubist Castle:

1. "The Opera House"
2. "Frosted Ambassador"
3. "Jumping Fences"
4. "Define a Transparent Dream"
5. "No Growing (Exegesis)"
6. "Holiday Surprise 1, 2, 3"
7. "Courtyard"
8. "Memories of Jacqueline 1906"
9. "Tropical Bells"
10. "Can You Come Down With Us? "
11. "Marking Time"
12.-21. "Green Typewriters Suite"
22. "Spring Succeeds"
23. "Theme for a Very Delicious Grand Piano"
24. "I Can Smell the Leaves"
25. "Dusk at Cubist Castle"
26. "The Gravity Car"
27. "NYC-25"

Download card:

1-9. "Explanation II: Instrumental Themes and Dream Sequences" (Bonus disc originally included with the CD version of this album. All nine cycles include environmental sounds [crickets, rain, dogs, etc.] recorded on a four-track recorder over two evenings outside the band's house.)
B-sides to the 1996 UK single "The Opera House", meant to be played simultaneously on two different sound systems for quadraphonic effect:
10. "Black Swan Network" (with Capillary Radar)
11. "Black Swan Network" (with Enveloping Bicycle Folds)

B-sides to the 1997 UK single "Jumping Fences":
12. "Optical Atlas"
13. "Language of Stationary Travelers"
14. "Green Typewriters"
Tracks from the 1998 compilation Smiling Pets in Japan:
15. "Do You Like Worms? (Do You Dig Worms?) "
16 "Little Pad"

Black Foliage: Animation Music Vol. 1:

1. "Opening"
2. "A Peculiar Noise Called 'Train Director'"
3. "Combinations"
4. "Hideaway"
5. "Black Foliage (Animation 1)"
6. "Combinations"
7. "The Sky Is a Harpsichord Canvas"
8. "A Sleepy Company"
9. "Grass Canons"
10. "A New Day"
11. "Combinations"
12. "Black Foliage (Animation 2) "
13. "I Have Been Floated"
14. "Paranormal Echoes"
15. "Black Foliage (Animation 3)"
16. "A Place We Have Been To"
17. "Black Foliage (Itself)"
18. "The Sylvan Screen"
19. "The Bark and Below It"
20. "Black Foliage (Animation 4) "
21. "California Demise (3)"
22. "Looking for Quiet Seeds"
23. "Combinations"
24. "Mystery"
25. "Another Set of Bees in the Museum"
26. "Black Foliage (Animation 5) "
27. "Hilltop Procession (Momentum Gaining) "

Download card:

1. "The Sky Is a Harpsichord Canvas" [full version]
2. "Beaker and Avalanche, Part 1"
3. "Beaker and Avalanche, Part 2"
B-sides to the 1988 UK single "Hideaway":
4. "Combinations" (live at GLR Radio)
5. "Can You Come Down With Us?" (live at GLR Radio)

Unreleased live session:
6. "A Sleepy Company" (live at GLR Radio 1998)
Track from the 2000 compilation More Music, Less Parking: WFMU Live from New Jersey:
7. "Outside Explorations, Pt. 3"
Track from the 2000 compilation Rabid Chords 002: Tribute to the Velvet Underground:
8. "European Son"
Track from the 2000 compilation Keep Left: David Barsamian (Alternative Radio), Vol. 1:
9. "Glass Beard"
Live on NPR: 10. "California Demise"
11. "Grass Canons"
12. "Can You Come Down With Us? "
13. "Hideaway"
14. "A Peculiar Noise Called 'Train Director'"
Tracks from the 2000 7" Black Swan Network:
15. "Grains and Sauces/Ice and Rings/Aqua Waters (and a Pear Shaped Thought)"
16. "The Present Time/Seven Thousand Luminous Aches and Pains/The Dinner Plate"