Numero Unearths Elyse Weinberg LP Featuring Neil Young, Nils Lofgren

Numero Unearths Elyse Weinberg LP Featuring Neil Young, Nils Lofgren
Chicago-based crate-diggers Numero Group have been poking around California's Laurel Canyon of late and discovered an old, unreleased album from folk singer Elyse Weinberg. Its Numerophone imprint will be issuing the sessions, which featured Neil Young, as Greasepaint Smile on September 18.

Greasepaint Smile was to be the follow-up to Weinberg's 1969 debut, Elyse. Her first album was issued by Tetragrammaton, but the label went out of business before Greasepaint Smile could be released. That said, a CD repress of Elyse in 2001 via Orange Twin had delivered two tracks from the sessions ("What You Call It" and "Houses").

"Houses" is especially notable, as it features lead guitar from Young. Of Shakey's "signature fuzz-tone," Numero says that it can be heard "casting chaos over the beautiful ballad." The song has since been covered by the likes of Dinosaur Jr. and Vetiver, among others.

Now, those two bonus tracks have been slotted back into the 10-song Greasepaint Smile. The set is said to be driven by Weinberg's finger-picked melodies and a "gravel-pit voice [that] evokes life, love, and mortality." In addition to Young's guest appearance, the record also includes backup performances from the E. Street Band's Nils Lofgren, J.D. Souther and Kenny Edwards. It was produced by longtime Crazy Horse cohort David Briggs.

Along with the tracklisting info, you'll find streams of "Houses" and "City of the Angels," a track that hints at Weinberg's travels from Toronto to Los Angeles, down below.

Greasepaint Smile:

1. What You Call It
2. City of the Angels
3. Houses
4. It's Alright to Linger
5. Collection Bureau
6. Gospel Ship
7. Nicodemus
8. My My My
9. Your Place or Mine
10. Grease Paint Smile