Northcote Announces Sophomore Album, Shares Teaser Video

Northcote Announces Sophomore Album, Shares Teaser Video
Matt Goud was previously a member of the post-hardcore band Means, but the songwriter has dialled down the noise and indulged his folksy side since launching his Northcote solo project. This spring, he will release his second full-length album under this moniker when he drops a self-titled LP on May 7 through Black Box Recordings.

This follow-up to 2011's Gather No Dust was produced by BC recording guru Colin Stewart (Dan Mangan, Yukon Blonde) at the Hive studios. Among the contributors are New Pornographers member Kathryn Calder (who sings lead on "Only One Who Knows My Name"), former We Are the City guitarist Blake Enemark, and an array of experienced backing players.

A press release notes that Northcote was largely written in the passenger seat of a Dodge van that was parked near the ocean in Victoria, BC. The material draws on Goud's background in punk, soul and blues, and the results are reportedly "filled with grooving soul drums, horns, bouncy basslines, atmospheric guitar and sing-along group vocals, creating a sound more fully realized and richer than Northcote's previous efforts."

Scroll past the tracklist to watch part one of a behind-the-scenes video series called Painting an Album. It offers background information about the LP and shows Goud turning the album artwork into a massive mural.

A digital 7-inch containing the album cut "Burn Right Past Them All," plus an exclusive B-side, will drop on March 12.


1. How Can We Turn Around

2. When You Cry

3. Hope The Good Things Never Die

4. A Thousand Nights

5. Burn Right Past Them All

6. Counting Down the Days

7. Drive Me Home

8. Knock on My Door

9. Find Our Own Way

10. Speak Freely

11. Walking Home in the Rain

12. The Only One Who Knows My Name