Nirvana Toasted with Tribute LP Featuring Torche, Boris, Circa Survive

Nirvana Toasted with Tribute LP Featuring Torche, Boris, Circa Survive
Last year, Virginia label Robotic Empire honoured Nirvana with the tribute album In Utero, in Tribute, in Entirety. Now, they're back at it with another one, this time called Whatever Nevermind. As with last year's comp, it will be released on Record Store Day (April 18).

While last year's comp focused on songs from 1993's In Utero, this one is a song-by-song tribute to 1991's Nevermind. But while Nevermind contained just 12 cuts, this tribute boosts that number up to 14 by including the hidden track "Endless, Nameless" and the era-appropriate B-side "Even in His Youth."

Contributors here include Torche, Boris, Circa Survive, Touche Amore, Kylesa, Cave In, La Dispute, Young Widows, Thou and more.

See the tracklist below, and below that hear Circa Survive's very faithful take on "Drain You." The band's guitarist Brendan Ekstrom said in a statement, "There are different ways to approach covering a band. For us, doing a Nirvana song takes us back to a very raw place that we were in when we were young and just falling in love with music. We didn't want to say 'here's what this song would've sounded like if Circa wrote it'. It was way more fun for us to live in their energy and pay homage to their influence by just rocking the shit out of it and keeping it raw."

Whatever Nevermind is available to pre-order from Bandcamp.

Whatever Nevermind:

1. Young Widows - "Smells Like Teen Spirit"
2. Torche - "In Bloom"
3. Kylesa - "Come as You Are"
4. Cave In - "Breed"
5. Boris - "Lithium"
6. La Dispute - "Polly"
7. White Reaper - "Territorial Pissings"
8. Circa Survive - "Drain You"
9. Touche Amore - "Lounge Act"
10. Wrong - "Stay Away"
11. Pygmy Lush - "On a Plain"
12. Nothing - "Something in the Way"
13. Thou - "Endless, Nameless "
14. Thou - "Even in His Youth"