Nick Ferrio Returns with New Album 'Television of Roses'

Watch his music video for "The Dam"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Mar 23, 2021

Georgina, ON-based folkster Nick Ferrio has shared plans for a new record titled Television of Roses. The artist will deliver the goods on June 18, but today he's offering up a glimpse of what's to come with a new single titled "The Dam."

The new track is a response to a letter sent to Ferrio by his late mother, in which she asked if he remembered her from "before her struggles with alcohol began."

"It explores those early years of my life, the poverty we experienced, but also my mother's resilience and strength," Ferrio explained of the track. "We were estranged from each other at times in our lives and she passed away a year ago after being diagnosed with leukemia. But, I played it for her before she passed and we made amends."

He added: "I'd like people to take away from this song that no matter how far you drift apart, there is still time to make things right."

The song arrives with its own Tanner Paré-directed music video, which was partially shot in Ferrio's hometown of Sutton, ON.

Ferrio said: "When I grew up there were a lot of people in my household and not everyone was a fan of my constant singing and guitar playing, so I would go to the cliff in the woods near our house and sing out to the lake. We recreated that in the video. It was cool to go back there and explore. Brought back a lot of memories."

The album was recorded and co-produced by Evening Hymns' Jonas Bonnetta and features contributions by Said the Whale's Nathan Truax, Heaps' Tanner Paré, Boyhood's Caylie Runciman, Evangeline Gentle and For Esmé's Lewis Parker.

Television of Roses marks Ferrio's follow-up to 2018's Have a Nice Day.

Watch the video for "The Dam" below, where you can also check out the album's tracklisting.

Television of Roses:

1. Every Time
2. Circles
3. Television of Roses
4. The Dam
5. Worthy of Love
6. Bad Luck
7. Solid Maybe
8. Second Pair of Eyes

Latest Coverage