Neutral Milk Hotel Reveal Massive Vinyl Box Set

Neutral Milk Hotel Reveal Massive Vinyl Box Set
It's been a big year for Neutral Milk Hotel fans, what with reclusive band leader Jeff Mangum hitting the road for a string of rare shows. Mania for the celebrated indie outfit is about to go into overdrive, though, as Mangum has just revealed a massive vinyl box set collecting all of the troupe's work, including a whack on unreleased material.

The band leader has unveiled a new website explaining that he will self-release the box set, which covers his group's entire output, including 15 unreleased gems. The package will feature gatefold twelve-inches for 1996's On Avery Island and 1998's In the Aeroplane Over the Sea. There will also be ten-inch copies of the Everything Is EP with bonus cuts and a new EP called Ferris Wheel on Fire, which contains eight rare or previously unreleased acoustic recordings.

On top of that, there will be a picture disc seven-inch for "Holland, 1945"; a seven-inch featuring two unreleased songs, "You've Passed" and "Where You'll Find Me Now"; and a seven-inch that has unreleased and live versions of the song "Little Birds." Along with the recorded material, the package comes with two 24x24-inch posters.

You can check the detailed tracklisting here.

The physical box set will be released November 22, while the unreleased tracks will also be available on a pay-what-you-wish basis on Bandcamp the same day. For now, you can stream "You've Passed" and "Where You'll Find Me Now" on the band's website. Pre-orders for the box are currently being taken on the site as well.

If you're looking for something extra special, Mangum is also selling one-of-a-kind drawings for $15.

In related news, Mangum hinted at adding more concert dates in the future, so we'll be watching out for those. A portion of proceeds from his upcoming gigs, as well as a dollar from every box set sold, will go to the Mongolian youth-aiding charity Children of the Blue Sky.