My Brightest Diamond Returns with New LP

My Brightest Diamond Returns with New LP
Shara Worden has lent her operatic vocals to Sufjan Stevens, David Byrne and Fatboy Slim, Owen Pallett, and Prefuse 73, but she is now returning to her own project, My Brightest Diamond. On October 18, Asthmatic Kitty will release the project's third LP, All Things Will Unwind.

According to a press release, the album addresses "class differences, the complexity of the atom, the beginning and end of time, and the experience of becoming a mother." It was composed for the chamber ensemble yMusic and apparently draws on influences like Roberta Flack, Edith Piaf and Tom Waits.

The press release also tells us that All Things Will Unwind was inspired by Detroit, where Worden lives with her infant son. The 11 songs address "the juxtaposition of life and death, class and race, pantries and politics -- as heard through the mesmerizing lullaby of a new mother."

Click here for a free download of the orchestral, beat-heavy single "Reaching Through to the Other Side." Aspiring remixers can get the track stems here. Also be sure to watch a live performance of the song at the bottom of this page, courtesy of A Story Told Well.

All Things Will Unwind:

1. "We Added It Up"
2. "Reaching Through to the Other Side"
3. "In the Beginning"
4. "Escape Routes"
5. "Be Brave"
6. "She Does Not Brave the War"
7. "Ding Dang"
8. "There's a Rat"
9. "High Low Middle"
10. "Everything Is in Line"
11. "I Have Never Loved Someone"

ASTW Presents | My Brightest Diamond & yMusic | Live @ MusicNOW 2011 from A Story Told Well on Vimeo.