Mute Records to Be Explored in New Book

Moby, Alison Goldfrapp, Anton Corbijn and Jon Spencer are all contributing to the tome
Mute Records to Be Explored in New Book
Next year will mark the 40th anniversary of Mute Records, and ahead of the milestone occasion, the storied label has announced a look at its history with the arrival of a new book.

Titled Mute: A Visual Document, the tome will arrive November 16 through Thames & Hudson. Authored by Terry Burrows and Mute founder Daniel Miller, the book will examine the label's history "from 1978 to tomorrow," collecting "photography, video stills, conceptual artworks, rare ephemera and equipment" from both the label's and Miller's archives.

The book will also feature "comprehensive discographies, a family tree of Mute artists plus an extensive introduction and commentary" from Miller himself. The Quietus notes that artist contributors include Moby, Alison Goldfrapp, Anton Corbijn, Bleddyn Butcher, Brian Griffin, Jon Spencer, Barry Adamson, Ivan Novak of Laibach, Liars' Angus Andrew, Adrian Shaughnessy and Tom Hingston.

Mute: A Visual Document is currently available for pre-order here.