Molchat Doma Detail New Album 'Belaya Polosa'

Hear lead single "Son" now

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jun 11, 2024

Belarusian post-punks Molchat Doma had their breakthrough with 2020's Monument, and now they've announced its follow-up album, Belaya Polosa.

Due September 6 through Sacred Bones, their fourth full-length is their first since relocating from their native Minsk to Los Angeles. It's said to be "a technicolour reinvention of the band's sombre dancefloor anthems" — a stark materialization of the contrast between locales and lives, and that of its Pier Luigi Nervi-indebted album art. 

"The entire album is a prism through which we tried to reflect what has happened to us," the band shared of their period of upheaval in a release.

The record will take cues from Kraftwerk, Depeche Mode, the Cure and "the transitional years of Talk Talk," as well as '90s dance music, with Molchat Doma's more synthetic propensities at the fore, though still anchored by Russian lyrics. "It's a different band," they explained. "A different sound and context, but the same style and the same emotions."

Today, Molchat Doma share "Son," which you can hear below. There, you can also check out the album's tracklist. 

Belaya Polosa:

1. Ты Же Не Знаешь Кто Я / Ty Zhe Ne Znaesh Kto Ya
2. Колесом / Kolesom
3. Сон / Son
4. Белая Полоса / Belaya Polosa
5. Безнадежный Вальс / Beznadezhniy Waltz
6. Черные Цветы / Chernye Cvety
7. III 
8. Не Вдвоем / Ne Vdvoem
9. Я Так Устал / Ya Tak Ustal
10. Зимняя / Zimnyaya

Latest Coverage