MGMT Return with New Album

MGMT Return with New Album
Psych-rock duo MGMT has announced that they will release a new self-titled album on September 17 through Columbia Records.

Partners in crime Ben Goldwasser and Andrew VanWyngarden hinted a while back that a new record might arrive in June, but details have now firmed up. MGMT will feature ten tracks, including the previously heard Record Store Day Single "Alien Days" and a new, recorded version of "Mystery Disease," which the band has played live. According to Pitchfork, there's also a cover of Faine Jade's "Introspection."

The new record will follow up 2010's Congratulations and will see the band delve further into experimentation. Speaking about the new material earlier this year, Goldwasser said, "We're not trying to make music that everyone understands the first time they hear it."

According to a press release, the new record will feature "unique visual elements to accompany and illustrate the new music" in the form of the Optimizer, which will provide video and CGI work to accompany the music.

The psychedelic pair is just wrapping up a string of North American tour dates, though more are expected to be announced soon.

Check out the tracklisting for MGMT below and scroll to the bottom to hear "Alien Days."


1. Alien Days
2. Cool Song No 2
3. Mystery Disease
4. Introspection
5. Your Life Is a Lie
6. A Good Sadness
7. Astro-Mancy
8. I Love You to Death
9. Plenty Of Girls in the Sea
10. An Orphan of Fortune