Members of PUP and Modern Superstitions Ready Debut Album as Radar Peak

Hear the trio's "Heaven's Gate" ahead of the LP's October arrival

Photo: Elissa Pearl Matthews

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Aug 23, 2023

Members of PUP and Modern Superstitions have announced their debut as Radar Peak. The trio of Nestor Chumak, Zack Mykula and Matt Aldred will release a self-titled LP on October 20.

As it turns out, the debut of Radar Peak is 20 years in the making. As Mykula explains, "The three of us have been entertaining each other's musical curiosity, in one way or another, for twenty years. From high school — a time when bands made their homes in garages — through to all of life's intentions."

After the 2006 dissolution of their high school band, Chumak and Mykula would pursue respective projects before becoming members of PUP, while Aldred would become a sought-after session player outside of Modern Superstitions. A decade later, the three reminisced about how they missed making music together, and soon enough, the revival was on.

"When we first started, we were just kids — green as can be," Aldred recalls in a release. "It wasn't until after we'd split up that we learned how to make the music we loved." Mykula adds how "that spark of connectivity seemed always enough to lead us back together."

Album opener "Heaven's Gate" is the first song to arrive from the trio, and you can hear it below. Mykula notes how it's "the first song we worked on where it felt like we'd figured out what Radar Peak is."

"It felt good to be locked away together with our instruments, bridging the distance of thousands of miles, hundreds of gigs, a couple missed birthdays and life passing you by," he says. "This is us figuring it out together and coming out the other side in one piece."

Pre-save Radar Peak.

Radar Peak:

1. Heaven's Gate
2. Butane Glow
3. Sniper's Muse
4. Counterfeit
5. Stepping Stone
6. Longtime Caller
7. Girl on Bike
8. Index of Tears
9. Maggie & Pete

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage