Max Richter Reworks Vivaldi's 'Four Seasons' for 'Recomposed' Series

Max Richter Reworks Vivaldi's 'Four Seasons' for 'Recomposed' Series
Germany-based neoclassical composer Max Richter has built a career out of his composition work for film and television soundtracks, as well as his beloved albums for the Fat Cat imprint, the most recent of which was 2010's Infra. Now, however, he's taken Vivaldi's iconic piece The Four Seasons and reworked it.

 The work is part of Deutsche Grammophon's Recomposed series, and sees Richter working with violinist Daniel Hope, German conductor André Ridder and the Konzerthaus Kammerorchester Berlin.

 In a statement, Richter explained, "You can't get away from the piece. It's part of the musical landscape, and a part of my own daily life. I hear it all the time in supermarkets, I have to endure it whenever I make a phone call and I'm put on hold, and it's always turning up in TV ads.... It is such engaging, attractive material that it's easy for young people to connect with it; it's very immediate. As everyone does, I had the piece in my brain and knew my favourite moments."

Recomposed by Max Richter will be available on August 31 via Deutsche Grammophon. That will be followed by a UK release in October and a North American release down the line. A trailer for the project is available below.

 According to Richter's website, his next solo album will be released in the spring of 2013.

Recomposed by Max Richter:

1. Spring 0

2. Spring 1

3. Spring 2

4. Spring 3

5. Summer 1

6. Summer 2

7. Summer 3

8. Autumn 1

9. Autumn 2

10. Autumn 3

11. Winter 1

12. Winter 2

13. Winter 3