Matana Roberts Announces 'COIN COIN Chapter Two: Mississippi Moonchile'

Matana Roberts Announces 'COIN COIN Chapter Two: Mississippi Moonchile'
Experimental alto sax player Matana Roberts is set to continue the free-spirited explorations of her COIN COIN project this fall via the release of COIN COIN Chapter Two: Mississippi Moonchile, which Constellation Records issues October 1.

A press release notes that the follow-up to 2011's COIN COIN Chapter One: Gens de couleur libres brings the collaborators pool down from the previous LP's 15-piece lineup to a trimmer sextet. Joining Roberts this time around are pianist Shoko Nagai, trumpeter Jason Palmer, double bass player Thomson Kneeland, drummer Tomas Fujiwara and operatic tenor Jeremiah Abiah. The group worked on the album in New York and recorded the results late in 2012.

Roberts's latest cycle of self-described "panoramic sound quilting" unfolds as an uninterrupted piece detailing "empowerment, pride, shame, suffering, eulogy, empathy, liberation and transcendence."

You can sample two pieces of the set, "amma jersualem school" and "for this is," down below.

COIN COIN Chapter Two: Mississippi Moonchile:

1. invocation

2. humility draws down blue

3. all nations

4. twelve sighed

5. spares of the world

6. secret coven

7. river ruby dues

8. confessor haste

9. amma jerusalem school

10. for this is

11. responsory

12. the labor of their lips

13. was the sacred day

14. lesson

15. woman red racked

16. thanks be you

17. humility draws down new

18. benediction