Marnie Stern Announces 'The Chronicles of Marnia'

Marnie Stern Announces 'The Chronicles of Marnia'
Quirky indie rock fretboard-blazer Marnie Stern last left us with her self-titled 2010 LP, but the artist has now announced her return and upped the ante album title-wise for her next set, The Chronicles of Marnia. The punnily titled platter, her fourth overall, arrives March 19 through longtime label Kill Rock Stars.

A press release reveals that this is the first LP of Stern's to not pair her melodic and massive guitar-tapping style with the frantic beats of Hella/Death Grips drummer Zach Hill — she roped in Oneida skinsman Kid Millions to handle the sticks this time around. This also marks the first time Stern has worked with a producer. The set was tracked last May at Brooklyn's Rare Book Rooms by Nicolas Vernhes.

"He kept trying to get me to sing the right notes," she told Spin of the experience with Vernhes. "There were arguments. I would argue with the guy and say, 'I don't want people to think I could really sing. I'm not a singer singer.'"

Stern further noted that The Chronicles of Marnia is a cleaner-sounding record, with more subdued sounds than past work ("I usually like to bury everything in a lot of noise"). You can sample the set's "Year of the Glad" in the player below.

The Chronicles of Marnia:

1. Year of the Glad
2. You Don't Turn Down
3. Noonan
4. Nothing is Easy
5. Immortals
6. The Chronicles of Marnia
7. Still Moving
8. East Side Glory
9. Proof of Life
10. Hell Yes