Mark Kozelek Readies Spoken Word Charity Album

Mark Kozelek Readies Spoken Word Charity Album
In recent years, Red House Painters/Sun Kil Moon mastermind Mark Kozelek has adopted a conversational, half-spoken singing style that emphasizes stream-of-consciousness lyricism. Now, he's doing away with the music altogether and fully embracing his poetic leanings on the forthcoming Dreams of Childhood - A Spoken Word Album.

These poems weren't written by Kozelek himself. Rather, a press release explains that they were penned by "street kids in Argentina," then translated into by Nicolás Pauls, Federico Novik, Pablo Cubarle and Catalina Morano. Kozelek recorded these translations, while Pauls — an actor and musician from Argentina — performed the Spanish versions and served as executive producer.

That's the tracklist of poems below. A thumbnail image of the album cover can be seen at Sun Kil Moon's website. The album will arrive on October 27 through Kozelek's own Caldo Verde Records. All proceeds will go to La Casa de la Cultura de la Calle, a non-profit organization that provides art classes to underprivileged kids.

Sun Kil Moon's most recent album, Universal Themes, came out last month.

Thanks to Stereogum for the tip.

Dreams of Childhood - A Spoken Word Album:

1. Castle

2. My Love Will Protect You

3. Dreams of Childhood

4. Go to Your Bed

5. If I Wrote About You I'd Write a Book

6. Anticipation

7. I Dreamed of My Sister

8. Close to Me

9. Go to Bed

10. My Sweet Heart

11. Beautiful Letter Dreams