Mark Eitzel Returns with 'Don't Be a Stranger'

Mark Eitzel Returns with 'Don't Be a Stranger'
On top of his celebrated work with the now-defunct American Music Club, Mark Eitzel has delivered a prolific run of solo albums since the early '90s. Up next for the singer-songwriter is Don't Be a Stranger, which Merge Records will release in North America October 2. European label Décor Records will issue the LP overseas September 24.

Apparently, the album came out of some serious hardships for the musician. A press release explains that prior to the making of Don't Be a Stranger, Eitzel suffered a heart attack, and also dealt with the implosion of American Music Club's second incarnation. After recovering from both events, Eitzel took to the studio with producer Sheldon Gomberg (Rickie Lee Jones, Ron Sexsmith, Ben Harper) to record what Merge is dubbing "Eitzel's finest solo album in over a decade."

Eitzel last delivered the self-released Brannan Street in 2010.

Eitzel has also hinted that he'll be touring throughout 2012 and 2013 with his current back-up band, Warm Gentle Rain. While the piano, bass and drums setup of the outfit will deliver Eitzel's solo and American Music Club work in "classic lounge style," the press sheet also insists their leader will "bring the chaos" on guitar.

Tour dates are expected sometime soon. For now, you can see the album art above and the tracklist below.

Don't Be a Stranger:

1 . I Love You But You're Dead
2 . The Bill Is Due
3 . All My Love
4 . Oh Mercy
5 . Costume Characters Face Dangers In The Workplace
6 . Why Are You With Me
7 . Lament For Bobo The Clown
8 . Break The Champagne
9 . We All Have To Find Our Own Way Out
10 . You're Waiting
11 . Nowhere To Run