Luke Lalonde of Born Ruffians Announces Debut Solo Album

Luke Lalonde of Born Ruffians Announces Debut Solo Album
Last month, Paper Bag Records released a fall sampler containing a track from Born Ruffians leader Luke Lalonde, and now the songwriter has confirmed the details of his forthcoming solo debut. Entitled Rhythymnals, it's due out October 30 through Paper Bag.

The collection was recorded at various homes and apartments in Toronto and Montreal between 2010 and 2012, with additional sessions taking place with Roger Leavens (the Rural Alberta Advantage, Woodhands) at Boombox Sound. The songs were composed during downtime away from Born Ruffians, and a press release notes that the collection "plays out like a passionate whim that changes from day to day."

The disc's theme "originally centred around the notion of sound existing whether we do or not and our unique ability to interpret it and manipulate it," but the focus expanded thanks to lyrics about "gender confused couples, a man who hates his boyish looks so he cuts his face up, long distance relationships and rejection."

The R&B-tinged electro-pop number "Undone" is streaming at the bottom of the page and can be downloaded for free right here. Also, you can check out "Grand (Rhythymnals)" over here. If you're suitably impressed, pre-order the album here.


1. Grand (Rhythymnals)

2. Hate the Night

3. Inamorataos

4. Undone

5. Shove Off

6. My Friend Archibald (R.I.P.)

7. Red Wagon

8. Calm Down

9. Wave

10. A Great Man