Lost Marvin Gaye Album 'You're the Man' Set for Release

Lost Marvin Gaye Album 'You're the Man' Set for Release
This April 2 would have marked Marvin Gaye's 80th birthday, and his longtime label home Motown has announced that a lost album from the soul icon will arrive days before the occasion.

Titled You're the Man, the album will arrive through the label on March 29, also coinciding with Motown's 60th anniversary. The album was slated to be the follow-up to Gaye's classic 1971 LP What's Going On, though none of the recordings were released at the time aside from the title track.

Highlights of the collection include a trio of mixes from Salam Remi and a rare, long version of "I Want to Come Home for Christmas." You can hear Remi's mix of "My Last Chance" in the players below.

While a number of tracks included on You're the Man have seen release on CD compilations, the album's release marks the first time that 15 of the 17 tracks will be available on wax. A 2xLP edition of the album will come with new liner notes from biographer David Ritz.

You're the Man is available for pre-order here.

You're the Man:

1. You're The Man (Pts. I & II / Single Version)
2. The World Is Rated X (Alternate Mix)
3. Piece of Clay
4. Where Are We Going? (Alternate Mix 2)
5. I'm Gonna Give You Respect
6. Try It, You'll Like It
7. You Are That Special One
8. We Can Make It Baby
9. My Last Chance (Salam Remi mix)
10. Symphony (Salam Remi LP mix)
11. I'd Give My Life For You (Salam Remi LP mix)
12. Woman of the World
13. Christmas In the City (instrumental)
14. You're The Man" (Alternate Version)
15. I Want to Come Home For Christmas
16. I'm Going Home
17. Checking Out (Double Clutch)