Local Natives Announce New Album 'But I'll Wait for You,' Share "April"

It's a companion piece to the band's 2023 LP, 'Time Will Wait for No One'

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Mar 25, 2024

Los Angeles-based indie rock outfit Local Natives have announced their sixth studio album, previewed today by new single "April."

But I'll Wait for You arrives on April 19 through Loma Vista Recordings. In a statement, the band described it as a "companion piece" to last year's Time Will Wait for No One, which was their first album since 2019.

"Maybe not an answer to a question but an exhale to an inhale," they continued. "There is so little that's in our control but among all this chaos, we can choose to be there for each other."

Although they're jumping the gun a bit on the actual month from which the lead single gets its name, "April" is a fittingly atmospheric Local Natives tune, exemplifying their at-times dizzying blend of the beautiful and the strange — in this case, the unexpected prominence of a funky bongo line. 

The song is accompanied by a Jonathan Chu-directed video, which draws inspiration from the Francis Ford Coppola film The Conversation. Check that out below, where you'll also find the album tracklist.

But I'll Wait for You:

1. Alpharetta
2. Throw It in the Fire
3. Neon Memory
4. Camera Shy
5. As Soon as You Arrive
6. Ending Credits
7. Raincoat
8. April
9. Walk Before You Run
10. But I'll Wait for You

Pre-order But I'll Wait for You.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage