Lo-Fang Reveals Debut LP for 4AD, Shares New Video

Lo-Fang Reveals Debut LP for 4AD, Shares New Video
Just a few weeks after Los Angeles's Lo-Fang (a.k.a. Matthew Hemerlein) released his debut single for 4AD, the genre-dabbler has revealed the details behind his first full-length, Blue Film.

Set to hit North American stores on February 25 and a day earlier in the UK, the song cycle was apparently written along Hemerlein's worldly travels. A press release adds further details, explaining that tracks were crafted anywhere "from a farmhouse in Maryland to a hotel in Cambodia" and recorded in studios in London and Nashville. The sessions were completed at Los Angeles's Capitol Studios with producer Francois Tetaz.

The debut LP includes both "#88" and "Boris" from Lo-Fang's recent 12-inch, as well as 10 other tracks that take electronic, R&B, classical and folk music influences into pop territory. Hemerlein himself is a classically trained musician and performed violin, cello, bass, piano and guitar on the album.

Lo-Fang has just premiered the video for album opener "Look Away," which was directed by Grant Singer (Sky Ferreira, Kendrick Lamar, DIIV). You can see the clip beneath the album info.

Blue Film:

1. Look Away

2. Boris

3. When We're Fire

4. Light Year

5. Blue Film

6. Interlude

7. #88

8. Intro

9. Animal Urges

10. Confusing Happiness

11. You're The One That I Want

12. Permutations