Listen to Sven Gali's New EP '3,' Their First New Collection in 25 Years

The Canadian metal heroes are finally back

BY Alex HudsonPublished Jun 10, 2020

Canadian heavy music heroes Sven Gali haven't released an album since 1995, but having dropped a couple of singles in recent years, they're finally back with a new collection. Their 3 EP is out on June 12 via RFL Records, and Exclaim! has the premiere of the whole thing ahead of time.

The four-song EP includes the prior singles "Kill The Lies" and "You Won't Break Me" (both produced by David Bendeth), along with the new tracks "Now" and "Hurt" (both produced by Jon Howard).

In a statement, vocalist Dave Wanless explained:

What started as what we dubbed "The Therapy Sessions" quickly turned into a 4-song EP we call 3. We believe that everything happens for a reason, and Sven Gali had some unfinished business to attend to. The songs and performances on 3 speak to the passion and vigour that still burns through our veins and our tanks are full of high-octane rocket fuel. For all our fans who supported the band over the years, this one's for you. For all of you that are new to the band, find a helmet. It's time to rock!

Sure enough, 3 is full of heavy, chugging riffs and howled choruses, mixing the melodies of '80s hard rock with the aggression of '90s metal. Hear it all below.

Latest Coverage