Lisa Bozikovic Teaches Us 'How We Swim' on New Sandro Perri-Produced Album

BY Alex HudsonPublished Jun 29, 2012

Lisa Bozikovic turned some heads with her 2009 record Lost August, and now the Toronto songwriter is looking to continue her upward ascent by releasing her sophomore album, This Is How We Swim, on August 28 through Shuffling Feet Records.

Bozikovic had some noteworthy helpers while making the album, which was produced by Sandro Perri and engineered by Ohbijou's Heather Kirby and features members of Timber Timbre and Fond of Tigers. According to a press release, the collection "explores the sensual and symbolic transformations of loss, framed against the movements of bodies and water."

The album reportedly boasts lush arrangements that blend guitars and keyboards with synths and strings. None of this, apparently, interferes with the "intimacy of her songwriting or compete[s] with the arresting power of her voice." The songs were written while Bozikovic was living on Toronto Island in spring of 2011.

Head over to Bozikovic's website for a free stream or download of the song "Into the Waves." A stripped-down live version of the title track is at the bottom of the page. See the tracklist below and expect Canadian fall tour dates to be announced before long.

This Is How We Swim:

1. Light Years

2. Waterfall

3. Midnight Ice

4. This is How We Swim

5. Misplaced

6. No Monument

7. Into the Waves

8. Fever Dream

9. Patient Stands

10. Out on the Sea

Latest Coverage