Lightspeed Champion Details Sophomore Effort

Lightspeed Champion Details Sophomore Effort
Former Test Icicles thrasher Dev Hynes turned heads when he released Falling Off the Lavender Bridge, the debut under his orchestral pop moniker, Lightspeed Champion, in early 2008. Now, the songwriter is gearing up to push the envelope all over again with a brand new album.

The record is called Life Is Sweet! Nice to Meet You, which is just the sort of positive reinforcement we need in these trying times. The album's 16 tracks were recorded and mixed with Ben Allen, who formerly worked with Animal Collective and Gnarls Barkley. According to a press release, "Lightspeed's early leaning towards American country dressings is traded here for a palette that draws on classical music and even musical theatre... joltingly '70s guitar and synth sounds, classical piano, Greek choruses shouting reprisals, and at least one ukulele-driven moment."

The album's lead single, "Marlene," will be released on January 25. The full album will be out in the UK on February 1 via Domino, so it'll presumably drop in North America the next day.

Life is Sweet! Nice to Meet You:

1. "Dead Head Blues"

2. "Marlene"

3. "There's Nothing Underwater"

4. "Intermission"

5. "Faculty Of Fears"

6. "The Big Guns Of Highsmith"

7. "Romart"

8. "I Don't Want To Wake Up Alone"

9. "Madame Van Damme"

10. "Smooth Day (At The Library)"

11. "Intermission 2"

12. "Sweetheart"

13. "Etude Op.3"

14. "Goodnight Michalek""

15. "Middle Of The Dark"

16. "A Bridge And A Goodbye"