Lee Burridge and Lost Desert Melt

Lee Burridge and Lost Desert Melt
Soothing water and ocean sounds open Melt, by Lee Burridge and Lost Desert, already putting the listener at ease for a minute, before dropping the first bass line, layering it carefully atop the organic entrance. "Sailing Without Compass (Off the Grid Version)" acts as an intro to the album, providing context. Halfway through, you're still unsure of where the track is going, but it's so smooth and welcoming that you don't really care. It's like floating on your back in the sea on vacation.
"Melt" sparkles its way into an opening; the switch between "Sailing Without Compass" and "Melt" is so smooth, it's like the songs don't change at all. These first two tracks set the tone; as melodic and moveable as the rest of the All Day I Dream catalogue, these tunes feel much more emotional.
"Rain" is a close-your-eyes-and-dance song, or a close-your-eyes-and-lie-in-bed one. Either way, the six-minute track begs your full attention; active listening will help you feel it just a little bit more, both with body and mind.
Toward the end of the album, more hard-hitting house anthems take the lead, with "Seven Magic Mountains" operating as the standout track. Bubbling with new effects and a kicky beat, it's a faster tune that works for both bedroom listening study sessions and festival soundtracks.
"Float On" feels familiar and nostalgic in a very good way. The more you listen, the more the track grows, swelling with the beat and taking on a new rhythm, layered with an eclectic arrangement of careful vocal samples, keyboards and drums.
Melt is a beautiful, multi-faceted deep house album; it's classic Lee Burridge, from the dreamy overall mood of the release to the frictionless texture and well-organized track list. It sucks you in and keeps you there, each track warming you slightly, the beats so terrific you can't help but want to dance, or at least bob your head along. An absolute gem of a record. (All Day I Dream)