Led Zeppelin to Issue Expanded 'BBC Sessions' with "Lost Tracks"

Led Zeppelin to Issue Expanded 'BBC Sessions' with 'Lost Tracks'
Coming off of their recent legal win, Led Zeppelin have announced that they'll soon be repressing "Stairway to Heaven" and a whole lotta radio recordings for an updated version of their BBC Sessions. Now given the ultimate title of The Complete BBC Sessions, the tweaked-up collection lands September 16 via Warner Music.

The original BBC Sessions release arrived as a two-disc set in 1997 and preserved a handful of performances aired on the BBC between 1969 and 1971. Some of these were cut at the BBC's famed Maida Vale studio with the legendary John Peel, while one session was captured in concert at London's Paris Theatre. The upcoming edition was fully remastered under the supervision of Zep guitarist Jimmy Page and adds eight more recordings to the package.

The newly added material includes three songs from a 1969 session that had been believed to be "lost" until now. Along with familiar blues rock cuts "I Can't Quit You Baby" and "You Shook Me," it includes the only recorded performance of Led Zeppelin's "Sunshine Woman." While the music has surfaced online throughout the years, this marks the first band-sanctioned release of the material.

The collection also includes multiple takes of tunes like "Communication Breakdown" and "What Is and What Should Never Be" that sound significantly different from each other, the changes helping trace the evolution of the band.

"The BBC Sessions show in graphic detail just how organic the group was. Led Zeppelin was a band that would change things around substantially each time it played," Page had once told Guitar World. "We were becoming tighter and tighter, to the point of telepathy."

The standard release for The Complete BBC Sessions will be spread across three CDs, on five vinyl LPs, and as a digital release. A "Super Deluxe" box set compiles both the CDs and LPs, while also including a 48-page book full of recording info and era-appropriate photos, as well as a "high-quality print of the original album cover."

You'll find the breakdown of the set below.

The Complete BBC Sessions:

Disc one:

1. You Shook Me
2. I Can't Quit You Baby
3. Communication Breakdown
4. Dazed And Confused
5. The Girl I Love She Got Long Black Wavy Hair
6. What Is And What Should Never Be
7. Communication Breakdown
8. Travelling Riverside Blues
9. Whole Lotta Love
10. Somethin' Else
11. Communication Breakdown
12. I Can't Quit You Baby
13. You Shook Me
14. How Many More Times
Disc two:

1. Immigrant Song
2. Heartbreaker
3. Since I've Been Loving You
4. Black Dog
5. Dazed And Confused
6. Stairway To Heaven
7. Going To California
8. That's The Way
9.  Whole Lotta Love (Medley: Boogie Chillun/Fixin' To Die/That's Alright Mama/A Mess of Blues)
10. Thank You
Disc three:

1. Communication Breakdown *
2. What Is And What Should Never Be *
3. Dazed And Confused *
4. White Summer
5. What Is And What Should Never Be *
6. Communication Breakdown *
7. I Can't Quit You Baby *
8.  You Shook Me *
9. Sunshine Woman *

 * previously unreleased