The Lawrence Arms Detail 'Metropole,' Premiere New Track

The Lawrence Arms Detail 'Metropole,' Premiere New Track
Coming off the recent announcement that the Lawrence Arms had signed a record deal with Epitaph, the Chicago-based punk vets have now revealed the details behind their label debut, Metropole.

Due January 28, this is the first full-length from the Lawrence Arms since 2006's Oh! Calcutta!, though they had issued the Buttsweat and Tears EP for Fat Wreck Chords in 2009.

As previously reported, Metropole was tracked with longtime studio collaborator Matt Allison at Chicago's Atlas Studios. According to a press release, the song cycle was informed by everything from Russian novelist Fyodor Dostoyevsky's Crime and Punishment, to "Outkast's Aquemini, Japanese hardcore bands, and pop songs on the radio."

The LP is also said to bring the band into storytelling-mode for tracks like the personal "You Are Here," which you can stream down below in a new concert footage-assisted lyric video.

  "When we got going on making the album it felt like we were writing at a different and sort of evolved level, which was really exciting," vocalist/guitarist Chris McCaughan said in a statement. "It's like all that time off ended up creating a whole new energy for us."

Various pre-order packages for Metropole have gone up for sale over here, ranging from LP and T-shirt combos, to a vinyl bundle featuring the bonus New From Yalta 7-inch, which includes three cuts not on the 12-song LP. You'll find the tracklisting info down below as well.


1. Chilean District
2. You Are Here
3. Hickey Avenue
4. Seventeener (17th & 37th)
5. Beautiful Things
6. Ancheron River
7. Metropole
8. Drunk Tweets
9. The YMCA Down The Street From The Clinic
10. Never Fade Away
11. Paradise Shitty
12. October Blood

New From Yalta 7-inch:

1. These Pigs Seem To Be Getting The Best Of Me
2. Bonfire Park
3. The Profiteers