Jon McKiel to Release 'Tonka War Cloud' This Fall

Jon McKiel to Release 'Tonka War Cloud' This Fall
It's been over three years since Jon McKiel released a full-length, so it's about time that the Nova Scotia songwriter rolled out another album. Following this year's Confidence Lodge EP, McKiel is now ready to release first LP since 2008's The Nature of Things. Entitled Tonka War Cloud, it's due out October 4 via Saved by Vinyl/Youth Club Records.

According to a press release, the ten-song offering finds the middle ground between "hushed minimalism and crashing dissonance, where the creaks of bones and stair treads find space between layers of fuzzy guitars, lush strings and warm vocal harmonies."

It was recorded in Riverport, NS's the Old Confidence Lodge, which was recently converted into a studio and venue. The sessions "often saw McKiel playing multiple instruments (guitar, bass, synth, considerably large chains, and percussion) over his own voice, building songs in layers late into the coldest nights of winter. This proved challenging since the massive building did not yet have the luxury of heat."

Below you can stream and/or download "Strands," which manages to be both mellow and noisy as hell.

Tonka War Cloud:

1. "Strands"
2. "Iceman"
3. "Old Problems"
4. "Fist Fight"
5. "Confidence Lodge"
6. "Interlude"
7. "Violent Hawaii"
8. "Holy Ghost"
9. "Death Van"
10. "Quills"

Jon McKiel - Strands by killbeat music