John Carpenter Gets Remixed by Zola Jesus, ohGr, JG Thirwell for Deluxe 'Lost Themes'

John Carpenter Gets Remixed by Zola Jesus, ohGr, JG Thirwell for Deluxe 'Lost Themes'
Director/soundscaper John Carpenter has announced there's even more in store for synth score fans looking forward to his Lost Themes release this February. A digital-only deluxe edition has just been announced, with the online offering adding remixes from the likes of Zola Jesus, Skinny Puppy's ohGr and Foetus founder JG Thirwell.

As with the standard physical editions on CD and LP, the digital edition of Lost Themes lands February 3 through Sacred Bones. Adding to the nine-song tracklsting, however, are an additional six tracks reinterpreting Carpenter's originals.

As per the tracklisting, which you can see down below, labelmate Zola Jesus has teamed up with Dean Hurley to remix album closer "Night." Silent Servant has cooked up an alternate version of previously previewed album opener "Vortex," while ohGr handles "Wraith." Other artists featured include the aforementioned JG Thirwell, as well as Blanck Mass and Bill Kouligas.

You can pre-order the deluxe version here.

Lost Themes proper was put together during recording sessions at Carpenter's home, with Cody Carpenter (Ludrium) and film-scorer Daniel Davies (I, Frankenstein) working alongside the Halloween composer. The LP strings together previously unheard or "lost" pieces that recall his earlier film scores, expanding on certain ideas over jam sessions with the new configuration of musicians.

Carpenter will also make a New York appearance at BAM on February 5 to discuss his career and celebrate the release of Lost Themes. Additionally BAMcinématek will host a month long film retrospective of all of Carpenter's feature films from February 6 to 22. You can learn more about that event here.

Lost Themes Digital Edition:

1. Vortex
2. Obsidian
3. Fallen
4. Domain
5. Mystery
6. Abyss
7. Wraith
8. Purgatory
9. Night
10. Night (Zola Jesus & Dean Hurley remix)
11. Wraith (ohGr remix)
12. Vortex (Silent Servant Remix)
13. Fallen (Blanck Mass Remix)
14. Abyss (JG Thirlwell Remix)
15. Fallen (Bill Kouligas Remix)